• The Ski Club created the tax-exempt Mt. Mansfield Ski Educational Foundation to help fund racer development.
  • MMSC Junior III & IV team was led by Dia Elliman, who won the Vermont State Championships.
  • The “Hopeful” program began (for those not of the 15 allowed in the JIII & IV team); Scott Moriarty and Dani Shaw on the roster.
  • Henry Simoneau donated the famous “Smugglers Bowl” and the Ski Bum Race Series. Even Charlie Lord and his team of “Senior Citizens” raced.
  • Billy Kidd won the bronze medal in Slalom and gold in the Combined at the FIS World Championships in Val Gardena, Italy, in February.
  • Following the World Championships, Billy retires from the World Cup circuit to join the Pro Tour started by Bob Beattie. He wins giant slalom and combined at the 1970 Professional Chmapionship, becoming the only skier to hold world titles on two circuits at once.
  • Billy wins USSA’s Buddy Werner Award. The award is for the outstanding U.S. competitor who demonstrates leadership and sportsmanship in national or international competition.
  • First running of CV Starr Trophy race is held on Chin Clip on February 6-8. The Trophy, design by Bob Bourdon, was modeled after Billy Kidd. Tyler Palmer and Ann Black were the combined winners.
  • Tom Bryant won diamond Little Spruce GS pin, Mary Beth was the only previous winner.
  • Bob Cochran (USST) and Jody Palmer win Sugar Slalom on April 11-12.
  • Rosie Fortna wins Combined at U.S. Alpine Championships.


  • Billy Kidd, retires from racing after one Pro season, becomes “Director of Skiing” at Steamboat Springs.
  • Gordie Eaton is Head Coach.
  • Starr Trophy (DH and SL) is held on January 16-17. Caroline Oughton and Rod Taylor are overall winners.
  • J3/4 Invitational (for top Eastern racers) is held on March 13-14. Giant slalom is held on Main Street, and slalom on SL Hill. Richie Woodworth, Chris Mikell, Karen Susslin, Leslie Smith, Dave Bean and Pete Murphy score top results.
  • The Sugar Slalom is held on April 17-18. Maple leaf pins are awarded to winners. Tyler Palmer and Susan Graves (Canada) are winners.


  • Charles Black becomes Club President.
  • David Partridge built a new timer/printer for the club.
  • Peter Ruschp is Head Coach, and is assisted by Klaus Heidler (Austrian Jr. National coach), and Bernd Hecher.
  • Ron Biedermann and Greg Bartlett were on National squad racing Can-Am circuit and Ron won first slalom.
  • Lyndall Heyer won the Junior National slalom title at Glen Ellen.
  • Jeff Stone and Rick Dworshak were big in JIII & IV Championships.
  • Cece Teague wins the Aspen Roch Cup.
  • Rosie Fortna wins Buddy Werner Award.
  • Cary Adgate and Martha Coughlin win the Starr Trophy. The GS is held on Main Street.
  • Michael Culver (CAN) and Barbara Cochran win Sugar Slalom on April 15-16.


  • Smugglers Bowl race got big and serious. Eric Oberg and Barbie Nash were the top contenders.
  • Billy Kidd came home and spent time coaching MMSC juniors.
  • Cece Teague wins second consecutive Roch Cup.
  • The annual dinner-dance was a sellout success with dancing to John Cassel & Band.
  • Charlie Black was honored for his service and Tom Amidon took over the Club presidency.
  • Club purchases new video equipment.
  • Dave Partridge develops timing system that will print elapsed time to the thousandths of a second, but also records in luminous digits and immediate readout.
  • Look/Beconta Championship Pro Race is held on March 2. Paul Reed is 7th.
  • The Starr Trophy is held on February 14-15, and also serves as Atlantic Regional Championships. Brian Vorse is combined winner, with Rodney Bicknell winning the GS, and Jerry McNealus winning the SL, both races held on Chin Clip.
  • Sugar Slalom is held on April 14-15, and winners are Bob Cochran and Ann Vancurran (Wildcat). A Sugar Slalom square dance is also held.


  • Tom Amidon takes over as Club President.
  • Peter Ruschp is Head Coach.
  • Resort purchases two Thiokol packers. Modern grooming era is underway.
  • Geoff Bruce and Deb Tarinelli are winners at Starr Trophy race on March 9-10.
  • Sugar Slalom is held on April 6-7, and winners are Carol Neilson and Chris Mikell.


  • Ron Biedermann was named to U.S. “A” Team and Lyndall Heyer to the “B” Team.
  • The first Stowe Winter Carnival featuring the Wowzzer logo was held.
  • The coaching staff includes Peter Ruschp, Paul Reed, Chris Maxfield, Bob Bortree, and Julie Wolcott.
  • John Morrissey, Fraser Buchanan, Rick Dworshak, and Jeff Nichols spent all of August training in Bariloche, Argentina.
  • John Teague and Holly Flanders are combined winners of the Starr Trophy race on March 13-14. Sara Pendleton and Neal McNealus win the GS.
  • Freestyle championships held January 23-25.
  • Mt. Mansfield is host to the J3/4 Eastern Championships on March 22-23. Tiger Shaw is #1.
  • Diane Poisson (Burke) and Danie Monoque (CAN) win Sugar Slalom on April 13-14.


  • The Stowe Winter Carnival featured the “Colgate Freestyle Championships” with $80,000 in prize money, aired on ABC’s Wide World of Sports.
  • The Equitable Ski America Classic was also a big event.
  • M.J. Shaw came to the Club as new Executive Secretary filling Paul Biedermann’s shoes.
  • Billy Kidd elected to the National Ski Hall of Fame.
  • Gale Driscoll becomes Stowe’s first full-time, paid woman patroller.


  • M.J. Shaw and Andrew Shaw made a clean sweep of the Equitable Ski Challenge in Park City and were written up in two national magazines.
  • Sepp Ruschp retired as President of the Mt. Mansfield Company – Verne Johnson came on board.
  • Starr Trophy race (the last) is held on Chin Clip on March 30. Pete Patterson and Jamie Kurlander are winners.


  • Steve Adams is new Club President.
  • The MMSC again won the Equitable Challenge at Snowbird – Chuck and Chuckie Baraw, Millie and Tee Bryant. Rona and Joanne Klein got trophies from Jack Fey and a trip to Sun Valley.
  • The U.S. Ski Team roster for 1977-78 included 7 MMSC racers. Heidi at 14 and Tiger at 15 are the two youngest on the roster. John Morrissey and Doug Powell were chosen to train in South America.
    • Ron Biedermann, A-Team
    • John Morrissey, D-Team
    • Doug Powell, D-Team
    • Tiger Shaw, D-Team
    • Lyndall Heyer, D-Team
    • Joanne Henry, D-Team
    • Heidi Knight, D-Team
  • On October 12, while training for the U.S. Team in Hintertux, Austria, Ron Biedermann was seriously injured. His life was saved by prompt air-lift and surgery and he returned to a New York hospital 3 weeks later.
  • Bart Bradford took over as Head Coach when Paul Reed retired.
  • Jesse Hunt and Beth Morrissey top the field at the JIII&IV Eastern Championships at Cranmore, NH.
  • Sepp Ruschp elected to National Ski Hall of Fame.
  • Fourth winter carnival held with World Pro Race. (SMR history timeline)
  • Bonnie Moser and Neal McNealus win Sugar Slalom.
  • It was a good snow year, still plenty of snow May 1.


  • “The Fastest Damn Ski Club in the Whole U.S.” won the Grand Marnier Challenge Eastern Finals. Patti Knapp, Chuck Baraw, Trude Erhard, Tom Emmanuelson, Millie Bryant and Gerhard Schmidt – then went on to finals in Snowbird and the Championship.
  • University of Vermont’s Chris Mikell wins NCAA GS.
  • Local racers in the Junior Program are allowed to get out of school early to train midweek (Tue-Fri).
  • J2 Eastern downhill and giant slalom is held on Main Street.
  • Bart Bradford is head coach, with Bob Bortree, George Tormey, Bill (Waldo) Emerson, Peter Knight, and Skip Fox also coaching.